• Recent Posts

  • Archives

Races Coming together in Kershaw

Jamie Rogers is a pastor friend of mine.  He pastor’s Kershaw Second Baptist and volunteers at the prison with me.  We usually share with each other what’s happening in our respective churches and collaborate on sermon ideas.  Yesterday we talked about being a GRacist (see previous post).  That’s when he shared with me the following.

Right now he has a men’s fishing expo planned and a block party for the homes closest to his church building ready to go.  He is trying to reach those who fish and the families that live near their building, which so happen to be predominately African-American.

Way to go Pastor Jamie Rogers for reaching out in our Kershaw community!

A heart beat of mine is that a multicultural church rise up in Kershaw.  I pray that we become racially diverse at Team Church even more.

Whether worshipping with all races in Kershaw is your desire or not, we cannot be blind to the impact of race relations.  After the February shooting of Trayvon Martin, this white mom of adopted black children wrote an excellent post about how white our world is.  Please click on the text below and read the whole blog that Jamie recommended to me.

Jen Hatmaker writes:

But then we decided to adopt two children from Ethiopia, and in November 2010, as I was shopping for their very first care package to send over, I was standing in the middle of the Target toy aisle, and I sent out this SOS text:

Where are all the black baby dolls? 

I sat down in the middle of Target and cried my eyes out.

How did I never notice this? How was this my first sense of outrage over this discrepancy? How could I have yammered about the end of racism and “a fair system” when evidence to the contrary was staring me in the face every single day?

One Response

  1. […] Races Coming together in Kershaw […]

Leave a comment